I am no bird and no cage ensnares me

cage

I wish to travel by the sky

I wish to travel by the sea

Travel far and wide

The realms of society chain me

So do the expectations of the family

Why me?

Trudging up and down the road

I see all eyes are set on me

Some want me to dress my best

Some want me to talk less

Some expect I walk slow

While some just stare at me

Put me into the golden cage of wealth

And I shall breathe my last

Set me liberated to witness me come to thee

Is it my fault I was born a girl

What right I hold to thee O Mother

Why Me?

I was born of Free will

I Break free from the shackles

I am no bird and no cage ensnares me

(Note: This post was inspired by Charlotte Bronte and her famous quote ‘ I am no bird and no cage ensnares me’)

Leave a Reply

